Français

picture

Please address all inquiries about MIS fellowship program to Administrative Assistant Maria Cortese - maria.cortese@muhc.mcgill.ca

***

The McGill MIS fellowship includes a diverse exposure to clinical surgery and an opportunity to develop academic skills. The clinical program is divided into foregut, solid organ and colorectal surgery sections. The academic exposure focuses on education and outcomes research, with the opportunity to pursue basic science or physiology projects if desired.

The goals of the fellowship are to acquire the knowledge and technical skills required to treat a broad range of digestive surgical conditions using advanced minimally invasive surgery, and to acquire the research and educational skills to contribute in an academic institution. There is an opportunity for the fellow to obtain an advanced degree including a Masters of Science in Experimental Surgery, a Masters of Science in Epidemiology, or in Education.

The MIS center includes a well-equipped inanimate skills lab on site with both physical and virtual reality systems to learn and evaluate MIS skills. Other courses are held at the McGill University Faculty of Medicine Simulation Centre, an ACS-accredited educational institute. The fellow has access to digital video editing software and technical support at the MIS centre and the Henry K.M.de Kuyper Education Centre at the Montreal General Hospital. There is an extensive library of print and multimedia material for the fellow to access, and there is a computer network with access to a variety of online electronic publications and search engines. We have a full time coordinator for the MIS center, a full time coordinator for the Education center, a full-time research assistant and administrative support of our academic mission. We also have outstanding support from a multimedia technician.

Funding is provided for the fellow to attend the annual SAGES meeting, and other meetings where he or she has a presentation on the scientific program. There is also funding for the fellow to visit another center in order to gain exposure to a unique clinical experience not available at McGill.

Patients are followed in prospective registries, enabling outcomes research. We have a multidisciplinary group studying the process of surgical recovery and its optimization, including novel approaches such as pre-habilitation and the role of enhanced recovery pathways. There is liberal access to a fully functional large animal operating room equipped to perform minimally invasive surgical procedures. Four new operating rooms have been built for MIS and include digital image collection and archiving, and video-conferencing capabilities.

In addition to a large clinical experience in advanced MIS procedures, McGill University has developed a strong academic focus. We are equipped and funded to train not only clinically skilled surgeons, but also academic leaders of the future. We have the resources and committed faculty to enable all the goals of the fellowship to be met. The MIS program has been identified by the McGill University Health Centre Hospitals as one of the priority programs of its mission. McGill has been a leading centre in educational research, simulator development and evaluation, and outcomes research. We work with dedicated senior anesthesia faculty who share our goal of academic excellence, and have a fellowship in MIS-anesthesia. There is strong interdisciplinary collaboration with gastroenterology, transplant medicine, hematology, endocrinology, urology, thoracic surgery and pediatric surgery. We have invested in creating a group of dedicated and highly motivated nurses with special interest in MIS to work with us closely in the operating rooms and in the MIS centre. The opportunity to supplement clinical training with a well-recognized academic degree is also an attractive aspect of doing a MIS fellowship at McGill.

The fellow must be eligible for licensure (as a trainee) in the Province of Quebec.

Information regarding eligibility for training at McGill for non-Canadian applicants can be found here.

MIS fellowship faculty laparoscopic case volumes (excludes cholecystectomy, appendectomy and diagnostic laparoscopy) - 754 cases (January 1 2011- December 31 2011):


Chart: MIS faculty cases summaryDescription: Tags: Author: charts powered by iCharts

With the breakdown (hover the mouse over to see the number):


Chart: HerniaDescription: Tags: Author: charts powered by iCharts


Chart: ColorectalDescription: Tags: Author: charts powered by iCharts


Chart: ForegutDescription: Tags: Author: charts powered by iCharts


Chart: Solid organDescription: Tags: Author: charts powered by iCharts


Chart: Bariatric Description: Tags: Author: charts powered by iCharts


Finally, the McGill MIS program is based in Montreal, one of the most cosmopolitan and beautiful cities in North America. Montreal is consistently rated as one of the cities in North America with the highest quality of life.

Please address all inquiries about MIS fellowship program to Administrative Assistant Maria Cortese - maria.cortese@muhc.mcgill.ca

Top

English

picture

Veuillez, s’il-vous-plaît, adresser toutes vos questions au sujet du programme de fellowship en CMI à l’adjointe administrative du programme, Maria Cortese -

maria.cortese@muhc.mcgill.ca

***

Le programme de fellowship en CMI de McGill présente diverses facettes de la chirurgie clinique et est une occasion de développer des compétences académiques. Le programme clinique est divisé sections qui concernent respectivement la chirurgie de l’intestin antérieur, d'organes solides et colorectale. Le volet académique met l'accent sur la recherche en éducation et en résultats chirurgicaux, tout en offrant, si désiré, la possibilité de poursuivre des projets de sciences pures ou de physiologie.

Les objectifs du programme sont d’abord d’acquérir les connaissances et les compétences techniques nécessaires pour traiter une large variété de maladies digestives en utilisant des techniques avancées de chirurgie minimalement invasive. Ensuite, le fellowship vise aussi l'acquisition de compétences de recherche et d'enseignement pouvant contribuer aux projets d’une institution académique. Il est possible pour le fellow d’obtenir un diplôme d'études supérieures, par exemple une maîtrise ès sciences en chirurgie expérimentale, une maîtrise ès sciences en épidémiologie ou en éducation. http://www.fellowshipcouncil.org

Le centre de CMI comprend un laboratoire bien équipé de simulateurs physiques et virtuels qui servent à enseigner et à évaluer les habiletés des résidents et fellows en techniques de CMI. D'autres cours ont lieu au Centre de simulation médicale de la Faculté de médecine de l'Université McGill, un institut d'enseignement accrédité par l’ACS. Le fellow a aussi accès à de nombreuses ressources de montage numériques de vidéo et de soutien informatique et technique au centre de CMI et au Centre d'Éducation Henry K.M. de Kuyper à l'Hôpital général de Montréal. Le fellow a à sa disposition une vaste bibliothèque de documents imprimés et un réseau informatique donnant accès à une variété de publications électroniques et de moteurs de recherche. Nous avons un coordonnateur qui gère le centre de CMI , une autre coordinnatrice qui s’occupe du Centre d'Éducation, un assistant de recherche et une équipe de soutien administratif qui travaillent tous à temps plein avec pour but le succès de notre mission académique. Nous avons également le soutien exceptionnel d'un technicien multimédia.

Le programme assure au fellow le financement nécessaire pour assister à la conférence annuelle SAGES, et aux autres colloques où il/elle présentera un projet de recherche scientifique. Il y a également possibilité de financement pour que le fellow puisse visiter un autre centre universitaire dans le but d'y obtenir une expérience clinique unique qui ne serait pas disponible à l'Université McGill.

Les patients sont suivis de manière prospective ce qui permet de mener des projets de recherche au sujet des résultats cliniques et chirurgicaux. Nous avons un groupe multidisciplinaire qui étudie le processus de convalescence post-chirurgical et son optimisation. Ceci comprend le développement de nouvelles approches telles que la pré-habilitation et les cheminements cliniques de réhabilitation. Le fellow a accès à une salle d’opération pour animaux entièrement fonctionnelle équipée pour effectuer des procédures chirurgicales CMI. Quatre nouvelles salles d'opération ont été construites pour la CMI et emploient des systèmes d’enregistrement et d'archivage numérique de l'image ainsi que de vidéoconférence.

En plus d'une grande expérience clinique dans les procédures CMI avancées, l'Université McGill met l'accent sur la formation académique. Nous sommes équipés et financés pour former non seulement des chirurgiens qualifiés sur le plan clinique, mais aussi de futurs leaders en recherche académique. Nous avons les ressources nécessaires et des professeurs dévoués à ce que les objectifs du programme de fellowship soient atteints. Le programme de CMI a été identifié par les hôpitaux du Centre universitaire de santé McGill comme l'un des programmes primordiaux de la mission du CUSM. McGill est un centre de premier plan en recherche en éducation médicale, en développement de simulateurs et de systèmes d’évaluation et en recherche concernant les résultats cliniques et chirurgicaux. Nous travaillons avec des professeurs seniors d'anesthésie qui partagent notre objectif d'excellence académique, et qui ont dans leur département un programme de fellowship et de recherche en CMI-anesthésie. Nous collaborons de manière soutenue et continue avec les départements de gastro-entérologie, de médecine de transplantation, d'hématologie, d'endocrinologie, d'urologie, de chirurgie thoracique et de chirurgie pédiatrique. Nous avons soutenu la création d’un groupe d’infirmiers et infirmières dévoués et hautement motivés ayant un intérêt particulier pour la CMI. Ces derniers travaillent de près avec nous en salle d’opération tout comme au centre de CMI.

Un autre attrait du programme de fellowship en CMI de l’Université McGill est la possibilité de complimenter la formation clinique avec un diplôme académique reconnu internationalement.

Le fellow doit être éligible à la licence (en tant que stagiaire) dans la province du Québec.

L'information concernant l'admissibilité à la formation de l'Université McGill pour les candidats non-canadiens peut être trouvée ici.



Nombre de cas chirurgicaux réalisés par le corps professoral du programme de CMI (exclut cholécystectomies, appendicectomies et diagnostiques par laparoscopie) - 754 cas (Janvier 1 2011- Décembre 31 2011)



Chart: MIS faculty cases summaryDescription: Tags: Author: charts powered by iCharts


Chart: HerniaDescription: Tags: Author: charts powered by iCharts


Chart: ColorectalDescription: Tags: Author: charts powered by iCharts


Chart: ForegutDescription: Tags: Author: charts powered by iCharts


Chart: Solid organDescription: Tags: Author: charts powered by iCharts


Chart: Bariatric Description: Tags: Author: charts powered by iCharts


Enfin, le programme de CMI de McGill est basé à Montréal, l'une des villes les plus belles et cosmopolites de l’Amérique du Nord. Montréal est cotée depuis plusieurs années comme l'une des villes en Amérique du Nord avec la meilleure qualité de vie.

Veuillez, s’il-vous-plaît, adresser toutes vos questions au sujet du programme de fellowship en CMI à l’adjointe administrative du programme, Maria Cortese - maria.cortese @ muhc.mcgill.ca

Top