Français

picture

Education is a high priority of the McGill Minimally Invasive Surgical Program.

An annual course has been developed for residents in general surgery and has been run by Dr. Gabriela Ghitulescu. This involves a series of two-hour didactic teaching sessions including both slides and videos covering the basic physiology, surgical principles and description of specific procedures. This is accompanied by a manual skills component utilizing the facilities of our minimally invasive surgical skills laboratory on the 19th floor of the Montreal General Hospital. This facility allows residents access to six physical simulators and four different types of virtual reality simulators. This skills training is based on a criterion-based model whereby residents are required to achieve a target level of performance in a simulator before operating on patients. This curriculum is being evaluated with both a pre-test and a post-test as a way of demonstrating its effectiveness. This course has also been offered also to gynecology and urology residents since 2003.

The McGill MIS simulation lab has also been extensively used by practicing surgeons in general surgery, gynecology, urology, and otolaryngology to develop and enhance their fundamental skills in video-endoscopic surgery.

Nursing education is a prominent responsibility of our Centre. Under the leadership of Donna Stanbridge a series of seminars, in-service programs, and skills lab training are used to advance nurses’ knowledge and skills in minimally invasive surgery.

The McGill MIS team participates in monthly videoconference rounds with a number of North American Centres. These rounds provide a fertile forum for discussion of clinical problems and innovative approaches to patient care.

New MIS operating rooms at the Montreal General Hospital site have added the capabilities of telestration and video-conferencing to augment the educational resources of our program. Digital recordings in the operating room can be synthesized into practical educational resources for resident and continuing medical education programs.

We maintain a large multimedia library of MIS texts, journals, and videos for the use of our residents and fellows.

Simulators

The McGill Laparoscopic Inguinal Hernia Simulator (MLIHS)

The MLIHS was created from low cost, readily available materials. It is an anatomically accurate representation of the inguinal anatomy that can be used to simulate both transabdominal preperitoneal (TAPP) and totally extraperitoneal (TEP) hernia repairs. Experienced surgeons found the simulator very useful for training and assessment.

The Hernia Simulator instruction kit:

download video with instructions (535 Mb, 19 min)

download zip file with materials and dimensions guide (pdf/jpeg)




Surgical Abdominal Wall (SAW)

The surgical abdominal wall model is used to simulate laparoscopic ventral hernia repair (LVHR). It is made from low-cost, readily available material, and is easy to assemble. The simulator aims to educate learners on anatomical relationships, procedural steps, and mesh sizing and fixation techniques.




Colonoscope Training Model

A Japanese Colonoscope Training Model is a physical simulator designed by Kyoto Kagaku. The training model allows for realistic colonoscopy insertion and withdrawal techniques. This model can be adjusted to the needs of the learner for different challenges and sensitivity variations.




Fundamentals of Laparoscopic Surgery (FLS)

picture

The FLS program teaches technical skill exercises to surgical residents and surgeons with the goal of improving laparoscopic ability. Our team at McGill has developed the manual skills component, called MISTELS. It consists of 5 tasks performed in a physical simulator that were proven to correlate with improved intraoperative performance. The system has been shown to be valid and reliable, and is now widely used across North America.








Fundamentals of Endoscopic Surgery (FES)

Fundamentals of Endoscopic Surgery (FES) is a program developed by SAGES in collaboration with our team at McGill. It aims to assess knowledge and skills in flexible gastrointestinal endoscopy. The technical skills component uses the Simbionix GI Mentor II virtual reality simulator that can simulate upper GI endoscopies.



LapSim

picture

The LapSim laparoscopic surgical simulator (Immersion Medical, Gaithersburg, MD) is a virtual reality simulator that includes a template with two endoscopic handles. The tasks are displayed in 2-dimensional representations on a computer screen. The simulator can be used to practice basic laparoscopic skills, cholecystectomy, and gynecological procedures.








ProMIS

picture

ProMIS, designed by Haptica, is the first hybrid laparoscopic simulator. The trainer can assess the learner by evaluating the time taken, the path length, and the efficiency of movements. Feedback is offered immediately after each task.








Low-Cost Simulator for Training and Evaluation of Flexible Endoscopic Skills

picture picture picture picture

This low-cost simulator is designed (by David Berger Richardson) to allow surgical trainees to develop the fundamental skills of flexible endoscopy. These skills include retroflexion, navigation and loop reduction, mucosal evaluation and instrumentation.

Top

English

picture

L’éducation chirurgicale est priorisée au sein du programme de CMI de McGill.

Un cours annuel a été créé pour les résidents en chirurgie générale et est donné par Dre Gabriela Ghitulescu. Ce cours consiste en une série de sessions didactiques de 2 heures avec diapositives et vidéos. Les sujets abordés sont la physiologie de base, les principes opératoires et la description de certaines procédures spécifiques. De plus, le cours enseigne des compétences manuelles que les résidents doivent pratiquer dans notre laboratoire. Ce dernier, situé au 19ieme étage de l’Hôpital général de Montréal, donne accès à six simulateurs physiques et à quatre simulateurs virtuels. L’enseignement des compétences manuelles est basé sur un model de critères établis : les résidents doivent atteindre un certain niveau d’expertise dans chacune des simulations avant de pouvoir opérer des patients. Ce curriculum est présentement évalué au moyen d’un test initial et d’un test final qui servent à démontrer son efficacité. Depuis 2003, ce cours est aussi offert au département de gynécologie et d’urologie.

Le laboratoire de simulation pour la CMI est aussi fréquemment utilisé par des chirurgiens expérimentés en chirurgie générale, en gynécologie, en urologie, et en otolaryngologie pour renforcer leurs compétences de base en chirurgie endoscopique par vidéo.

La formation continue des infirmières est aussi une des responsabilités de notre centre. Sous la tutelle de Donna Stanbridge, une série de séminaires, de programmes internes, et de laboratoires pour les compétences manuelles est tenue pour enrichir les connaissances des infirmières en CMI.

L’équipe de CMI de McGill participe à des vidéoconférences mensuelles avec d’autres centres universitaires d’Amérique du Nord. Celles-ci donnent lieu à un forum de discussion portant sur les problèmes cliniques fréquents et sur les approches innovatrices pour le soin des patients.

Pour augmenter les ressources éducatives de notre programme, il y a maintenant de nouvelles salles d’opérations à l’Hôpital General de Montréal. Celles-ci permettent la téléstration et les vidéoconférences. Les enregistrements digitaux de procédures chirurgicales sont des ressources éducatives pratiques pour les résidents et peuvent servir aux programmes d’éducation médicale continue.

Nous avons une vaste collection multimédia de textes, d’articles de journaux, et de vidéos au sujet de la CMI accessible aux résidents et fellows.

Simulateurs

Le Simulateur d'hernie inguinale laparoscopique de McGill (MLIHS)

Le MLIHS est conçu à partir de matériaux à faible coûts et facilement disponibles. C'est une représentation précise de l'anatomie inguinale et peut être utilisé pour simuler les herniorraphies transabdominales préperitonéales (TAPP) et totalement extrapéritonéal (TEP). Les chirurgiens expérimentés trouvent ce simulateur très utile à des fins de pratique et d'évaluation.

Paroi abdominale chirurgicale

Le modèle chirurgical de paroi abdominale est utilisé pour simuler l'herniorraphie ventrale laparoscopique. Il est conçu de matériaux à faible coûts, facilement disponibles, et est facile à assembler. Ce simulateur vise à éduquer les apprentis sur les relations anatomiques, les étapes de la procédure, et les techniques pour mesurer et fixer la bonne dimension de la mèche.

Modèle de colonoscope d'entraînement

Un modèle japonais d'entraînement de la colonoscopie est un simulateur physique conçu par Kyoto Kagaku. Le modèle d'entraînement permet des techniques réalistes d'insertion et de retrait du colonoscope. Ce modèle peut être ajusté au besoin de l'apprenti pour différents défis et variations de défi.

Les fondements de la chirurgie laparoscopique (FLS)

Le programme des fondements de la chirurgie laparoscopique (FLS: Fundamentals of laparoscopic surgery) enseigne les habiletés techniques aux résidents et aux chirurgiens par l'intermédiaire d'exercices visant à améliorer leur habilités laparoscopiques. Notre équipe à McGill a développé la composante de techniques manuelles, appelée MISTELS. Ceci consiste en 5 tâches effectuées dans un simulateur physique dont la corrélation avec une performance intra-opératoire améliorée fut prouvée. La validité et la fiabilité de ce système ont été démontrées. Il est désormais utilisé partout en Amérique du Nord.

Fondements de la chirurgie endscopiques (FES)

Les fondements de la chirurgie endoscopiques (FES: Fundamentals of Endoscopic Surgery) est un programmes développé par SAGES (Society of American General and Endoscopic Surgeons) en collaboration avec notre équipe à McGill. Il vise à évaluer les connaissances et habiletés en endoscopie gastrointestinale flexible. La composante des habiletés techniques utilise le simulateur vituel Simbionix GI Mentor II qui simule les endoscopies gastrointestinales.

LapSim

Le simulateur chirugical laparoscopique LapSim (Immersion Medical, Gaithersburg, MD) est un simulateur virtuel qui inclue un gabarit avec deux manches endoscopiques. Les tâches sont affichées en représentation de 2-dimensions sur un écran d'ordinateur. Ce simulateur peut être utilisé pour pratiquer des habiletés laparoscopiques de base, des cholecystectomies et procédures gynécologiques.

ProMIS

ProMIS, designé par Haptica, est le premier simulateur laparoscopique hybride. Le mentor peut évaluer l'étudiant par l'intermédiaire du temps utilisé, la durée du parcours et l'efficacité des mouvements. Les commentaires sont adressés immédiatement après chaque tâche.

Top